top of page

The Myth of Low-Fat Diets: Why You Should Eat Fat to Burn Fat

The human body needs energy (fuel) to get work done.

The two main sources of energy are carbohydrates and fats.

Carbohydrates is the primary source and fat is secondary.


What are Carbohydrates?

Carbohydrates are sugar molecules that are found in certain foods and drinks. They provide most of the body's energy.

The two main forms of carbohydrates are called simple carbohydrates and complex carbohydrates.


Simple carbohydrates are sugars.

  • produce a spike in blood glucose levels and a short energy supply. Table sugar, milk sugar, sport drinks, fruits and vegetables are examples of simple carbohydrates.


Complex carbohydrates are fibers and starches.

  • raise blood glucose levels for longer and provide a longer energy supply. Starches, breads, cereals, nuts, beans, whole grains and starchy vegetables are examples of complex carbohydrates.


The body breaks down sugars and starches from foods and turns them into glucose (blood sugar) to be used for energy.

Glucose is moved from the bloodstream and into cells. The hormone, insulin, helps with this process.

Glucose is used for energy by the cells and excess amounts are stored in the body. A small amount of excess energy is stored as glycogen in the muscles and liver.

Most of the energy from glucose is stored as fat in the fat (adipose) tissue in the form of triglycerides.


What are the 3 Types of Dietary Fats?

Dietary fats are fats that comes from food and are used as energy sources for the body. They take longer to digest than carbohydrates and proteins.

The three types of healthy and unhealthy dietary fats are:

  • Saturated Fats.

  • Unsaturated Fats - monounsaturated and polyunsaturated.

  • Trans-Fats.

The body stores excess energy from fats in the fat tissues in the body.


What Are Healthy Fats?

examples of healthy fats

The two types of healthy fats are called: monounsaturated fats and polyunsaturated fats.

The healthy fats take longer to digest than carbohydrates and proteins. Eating healthy fats will control your appetite and keep you from overeating.

The healthy fats come mostly from vegetables, nuts, seeds, fish and are liquid at room temperature not solid.

  • Monounsaturated fats are found in plant foods such as nuts, avocados and vegetable oils (olive, peanut, canola, sesame).

  • Polyunsaturated fats are found in plants and animals such as fatty fish, tofu, seeds, walnuts, vegetable oils (soybean, safflower) They are liquid at room temperature but start to turn solid when chilled. These are essential fats the body needs for important body function.


What Are Unhealthy Fats?

The two types of unhealthy fats are called: trans-fats and saturated fats.

The worst type of dietary fat is known as trans-fat. Trans fats are byproducts of a hydrogenation process that turns healthy oils into solids.

  • trans-fats are found in many fried "fast" foods, packaged, or processed foods and margarine. Trans fats have no health benefits and increases health problems.

  • saturated fats are found in animal-based foods like beef, pork, poultry, full-fat dairy products and eggs and topical fats (coconut, palm and palm kernel.

Eating healthy fats can help you lose weight. Healthy fats increase fat burning and take longer to digest than carbohydrates and protein. They also control your appetite by keeping you full longer, prevent overeating, boost metabolism and reduce fat storage.

I would love to read your comments.

Click the link below to read the other related blog posts. Subscribe to stay updated on new posts and share posts to help others. Thank you!


Noté 0 étoile sur 5.
Pas encore de note

Ajouter une note
bottom of page